Minimalism or Consumerism?

In this blessing of a western world we live in. It’s popular to keep up with the joneses or in this particular day and age it’s now the Kardashians. You see the Kardashians on TV with 10,000$ Gucci handbags, 7 different cars one for each day of the week. I could go on and on about the stupendous amount of stuff they have and the outrageous amount all of it cost. But what I want to get to is, As a Christian should we strive to live like the Kardashians in the aspect of possession or live a minimal life in the aspect of possession. Better yet, if Christ was alive today. Would he be apart of the consumerist mindset or the one of a minimalist?

Personally, at first thought. Minimalism all the way, when I’m gone in heaven, I’m not going to take any of it with me. So what’s the need for the things I don’t need? Would I be less stressed by maintaining the bare minimum of what I actually NEED, I would think of course. But if a person is in need would I be able to meet that need? 
But I wouldn’t discredit consumerism by any means. As a Christian I believe we are supposed to put others above ourselves. I’ll propose this situation, a person needs clothes and a consumerist has a ton and is able to meet that person’s need without going without. I think consumerism is beneficial in that way, giving without going without. 

I could go on and on both sides of the coin.My bottom line is I think minimalism is good for oneself or well being. I think consumerism is better for one to help out or to bless materially. As long as they own the possessions and the possessions don’t own them. 

So, which side of the coin would be more Christ like? 

Please leave some comments and maybe some questions you have for me in the comment page! 

Blessings.  

5 responses to “Minimalism or Consumerism?”

  1. I’ve heard this saying.. “You can’t out give God.” and the way I pray is that I am blessed to BE a blessing. I’ve been able to give fifty and twenty dollars at a time to friends in need. And to be able to give is a reflection of love. In the word it talks about not saying to the beggar, be warm and be full, without helping out. (In plain terms)
    But I think that consumerism doesn’t really have anything to do with your giving. The bible – well God – just wants you to give. And even if you have an abundance- doesn’t mean you’re not sacrificing what’s yours. Financial wealth isn’t the only thing you can give. Affirmation of love is very valuable , and so is time, the energy you spend on people others have given up on. The things you give reflect your heart.

    Just a side note: what you value- I believe – When you sacrifice you give the best you can give

    ( God gave us Jesus )
    (God gave us the best he could give)

    Like

    1. Beautifully written.

      Like

    2. When I went to lie down last night. I was lead to read about the widows offering and I feel that’s the same message as you’re preaching.

      Like

  2. Britney Addison Avatar
    Britney Addison

    This is a powerful post. I believe a minimalist mindset is a great foundation to have as a Christian. We shouldn’t be conformed to this world as the Bible tells us. I also believe that we shouldn’t be afraid to have things and live Heaven on earth. The willingness to give up those things for the sake of the Gospel is in the heart of a person. Consumerism and Minimalism is a heart issue…

    Like

    1. I love that comment! You posses the stuff, the stuff doesn’t posses you! I hear you!

      Like

Leave a comment