Samson & Delilah

This story is crazy, awesome, weird. Soooo many things in one. I’ve been reading about Samson lately. But more specifically about Samson and Delilah. Their is so much wisdom and knowledge inside this one chapter that’s easy to miss if you don’t take the time to digest it. I want to draw your attention to a few things God has drawn my attention to.

So, to give a bit of a preface. Samson is a M A N in the arena of human strength. He killed a lion with his bare hands..

Samson slept with a prostitute. Gazites surroneded Samson to capture him. But if you know anything about the story of Samson you know this dude has dumb strength (aka Strength of the Lord). So, it really didn’t work out for the Gazites because Samson totally wrecked everything. Pulling up posts and tearing down gates. Dude was a walking HULK. After Samson goes straight beastmode he falls in love with this girl Delilah. (Go somewhere Plain White T’s). She was a philistine who is an ENEMY of Israel. The phillistines were like “Hey girl we’ll give you money if you seduce him and find out where his strength lies.” Like any other relationship that isn’t rooted in Christ. She agrees and says to Samson:

“Please tell me where your great strength lies, and how you might be bound, that ONE could subdue you”

Samson replies:

“If THEY bind me with seven fresh bowstrings that have not been dried, then I shall become weak and be like any other man”

Did you catch that???

Imagine going up to your mom or dad and being like. “If someone had your debit card what might be the PIN number to take cash out of the ATM. Just hypothetically, of course.” Your parent would look at you like….. Do you think I’m stupid? You obviously have my debit card and have some hidden agenda.

Well Samson catches on to Delilah’s games. Because he doesn’t say “If one were to” He says THEY which is speaking of a group of people not just one person. He isn’t deceived he knows what’s going on here! He’s picking up what she is putting down and smelling what she’s stepping in. You feel me?!

So, this happens like 3 more times. Every time Samson makes up some lie and continues to play this game.

Samson isn’t deceived he knows exactly what’s going on. So that begs the question. Why? Why continue to play games? Why continue when you know someone is trying to get the best of you and deceive you and use you for their good.

Love. People want to know that they are loved. People want to feel loved. People don’t like being alone.

Don’t believe me? Let me prove it.

Judges 16:15 “And she said to him, How can you say, I love you. When your heart is not with me?” That’s a guilt trip from hell (quite literally).

Sounds familiar though doesn’t? If you love me you would kiss me. If you love me you would have sex with me. If you love me it doesn’t matter who is watching or who is listening. Hey, I’ve been Delilah and Samson. But I was first Samson, Before I became Delilah. You feel me?

Hurting people hurt people. Who’s to say that Delilah wasn’t hurt when the phillistines asked her to basically pimp her love or maybe lack their of for Samson.

In this story, Samsons strength lied in his hair. Samson eventually gave up the secret. The phillistines cut his hair and gouged out his eyes.

Let me ask you a question. Are you willing to sacrifice God’s strength in your life. For a woman/man? Are you willing to surrender God’s plan in your life for a woman/man. I’m not saying forever be celibate and having a significant other is a bad thing. We know its not good for man to be alone. But if that significant other isn’t looking out for your best interest. Then what are you doing? Fulfilling some fleshy desire because you don’t want to be alone?

I’ll be the first to admit. I made these mistakes 100 times over.

I hope to leave you with some encouragement and may it be this. Don’t LET someone play with your emotions because you want to feel secure. In the end, you’re just going to get hurt. It’s inevitable, its going to happen. Their aren’t any, if, and or buts about it. If you do, that person will only take away your zeal for God. Your security and who you are is found in Christ and Christ alone. You’re valued, you’re worth it. You’re loved. Get around the people who love YOU, NOT just your figure or your looks. God loves you as you are. No assembly required.

Leave a comment